Adventure, Dogs, FUN!, Journal, joy, Lent, Love, Today was Awesome

small joy: 40 days later

I was prompted by ManMadeOceans to continue the small joy list that I started for lent. His reasoning was simple: why not? As soon as I read his thoughts, I couldn’t come up with a good excuse… or I didn’t really want to. Either way, this is still an excellent exercise in finding the good in everyday. Even when that day seems like it sucked, I sit down and force myself to find something good. Lately I am looking for the small joys, wondering which joy is the smallest one to make the biggest difference. Since it is now officially Spring, happiness seems to be just one ray on sunshine away, making each morning an exercise in hope and excitement.

10170992_10202134846947861_7678966581833317803_n

Here’s another 40 day dose of the small joys that have been finding me lately.

Day 41: Taking the scenic route.

Day 42: Finding a hidden fan base for my blog. It’s called “my friend’s moms.”

Day 43: Making out like a teenager.

Day 44: Staying up late on a school night with an old friend.

Day 45: Making 4 Chicken legs for 3 people and feeding the neighbor who just happened to stop by. Then discovering the video to my new favorite song actually feels just like I do when I hear it …THIS!

Day 46: Sushi for lunch and dinner… a Good Friday coincidence!

Day 47: A full day of rest and relaxation.

Day 48: Lending a neighbor sugar.

Day 49: Bacon!

Day 50: Being thanked with groceries.

Day 51: Hanging out with a 4 year old at work. He opened a lollypop for me and made sure I ate it.

Day 52: A white dove in Union Square at 7:55 am. I also saw a squirrel with a newspaper. My only thought was “sodoku.”

Day 53: No boys in the office!

Day 54: Pizza from Giovanni’s.

Day 55: Exit 69 on the Long Island Expressway.

Day 56: Sleeping naked.

Day 57: Seeing my blog stats reach 5000+ hits. Thanks friend’s moms!

Day 58: A long overdue chat with my best gal pal.

Day 59: Impromptu hang out with my neighbors.

Day 60: Drinks with co-workers at Madison Square Eats.

Day 61: Paul has returned!

Day 62: Grocery Shopping at Stew Leonard’s and Stew Leonards Wine Shop in Yonkers.

Day 63: Finding something I thought might be gone forever.

Day 64: Finishing a project started too long ago!

Day 65: “Bad Movie” night turning out to be “Great Movie” night. See what we watched HERE.

Day 66: Making dinner for one of my best friends.

Day 67: Stopped at a red light and saw a cab driver helping an old fat lady with a walker out of the cab on the traffic side of the street.

Day 68: Lunch at Santa Clarita and then a trip to the pet shop to look at the animals.

Day 69: Hugging my mom (and having a dog as a house guest!).

Day 70: Starting THIS gardening project.

Day 71: Coming home to a dog that is just SOOOOO happy to see me.

Day 72: Waking up sore and feeling good about it.

Day 73: Finding money in my purse!

Day 64: Rainy evening road trip from NYC to VA to see my sister and her awesome family. Captain Clam and I sang and joked the entire ride, making 7 hours feel like, well, not 7 hours. Plus, we had a dog with us, so that was pretty awesome, too.

Day 75: Wearing a horse dress to a horse party.

Day 76: Seeing a dog smile.

10373840_10152091278502401_4700498811365888667_n

Day 77: Setting up an old church pew in the living room.

Day 78: Playing in the dirt

Day 79: Waking up to baby birds chirping.

Day 80: Having a great eyelash day!

Well, wasn’t that a journey and a half? There were a few days that really knocked the wind out of me, especially Day 64, where a co-worker’s snide comment about me being dumber than an osculating fan really stuck with me for a few days (and beyond, obviously). Day 77 was a real doozie when one person decided to be a total douchebag, starting all kinds of drama within my family by stirring a pot that should have been filled with gratitude, not unkindness. Finding joy on days like these is often hard because I am left so angry and emotional, which then make my small joys lost and I end up copping out on some other insignificant thing as my joy (like a church pew? really? It is pretty cool though).

It continues to amazing to me how small things can just tear the joy right out of the day just as much as small things can smother the day in love.

My happiest days also came towards the tail end of this past 40 days. Starting #Garden134 is a huge goal for me and Captain Clam, plus helping a dog find a good home and seeing all my family in the span of one week was a real treat (that’s not supposed to sound sarcastic). Day 61 and 66 were real happy days, since one of my best friends ever has returned to the neighborhood (well, and the United States of America). It was a real shit experience when he moved away, and it’s been such a huge joy to reconnect with him and catch up on a few missing years. Welcome Back Paul!

I look forward to sharing the next 40 days with ya’ll. What small joys have you had lately?

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

