Adventure, Community Garden, FUN!, Garden, joy, Life, New York City, Recycle, Save The World, South Bronx, Spring

Project: Community Garden 6.4.14

Has it been 2 weeks already? I can’t even make excuses, other than Captain Clam and I had some rain showers, some long weekend Company, and a bit of Bronchitis and a thrown out back. Okay, the bronchitis and bad back were from me, but Captain Clam had to listen to me cough and complain, and was required to be ever-present to pick up anything that I might have dropped.

We are finally back at it! Well, I should say that the Captain is back at it, and I spent the evening being his flower shopper, cheerleader, and Supervisor (and comedian). I stopped back into the Union Square Farmer’s Market yet again to take advantage of all the lovely blooms from countless vendors. Today I picked up some of the lovelies below:

140604_003

Something called “ground cover”, Kiss Frosty Mix, Blanket Flower (Gaillardia Xgrandiflora), Alyssum, and of course, the Left over Lavender from two weeks ago.

 

I tried to grab flowers that were very happy to be stuck in the sun and a little bit thirsty. I am realizing now that perhaps what the South Bronx needs is a cactus garden. Then again, maybe not (direct Quote from Lumiere, Beauty and the Beast). The plot had been mowed earlier in the week, and we instantly realized just how big this project was going to be. I cheered my Clam along like a red-neck at a Rangers game as he sweat and mucked his way through the dirt. I even tried to help with some shoveling and raking, but that seemed almost counterproductive. His first order of business was this area, where we had collected a broken palette a few weeks back and wanted to find a useful place for it, since it is clearly trash:

140604_002

My handsome Captain Clam!

I had very little idea what he was planning there, so I went with the flow and made sure to insist that we were “on the same page.” As usual, we were not. But that’s what makes this exciting (well, that and the hungry mosquitoes that  love to dine on my fragrant flesh)! Once we figured out what we could do and were absolutely unable to do be because of the laws of Physics, we ended up with this satisfactory compromise:

140604_004

Oh, just wait until it grows in!

At this point, a handful of people had already stopped in to say hello and asked what we are up to. A few of them were our neighbors. One gal in particular popped by to share her excitement and her own experience starting a Community Garden. She graciously offered her help and invited us to come meet her parents so we can find out more about starting a garden for the community as a Non-Profit Organization. What? That’s bananas to me! Regardless of that kind of step, we are so happy to have the offer of help and support.

We continued digging and planting, and a few other people walked by, everyone saying hello and passing on their support. I got to pet a lot of dogs tonight, so I am on a piece of the 9th Cloud. People started honking and waving from their cars, including firemen! Needless to say, Captain Clam is exhausted, I am covered in bug bites, and we are both extremely happy with the progress and the support from our community. Now all we have to do is sit and wait for the rain to come so our newly planted foliage can have a well deserved drink.

 

140604_001

BEFORE

140604_006

AFTER

140604_005

Please note, the giant hole is preparation for our next palette tier, which we hope to get in the ground in the next few days.

140604_007

If you’d like to donate time or supplies (not money), please email me: stjanecek@gmail.com. And please stay tuned for more updates on #Garden134!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

